Former Cougars Mack, Conner, Harris and President To Have Jerseys Honored

Former Cougars Mack, Conner, Harris and President To Have Jerseys Honored

Bookmark and Share

CHARLESTON, S.C. – Four former College of Charleston men's basketball players will have their jerseys honored in two special ceremonies to take place in the month of February at Carolina First Arena.

Greg Mack, who starred for the Cougars under legendary head coach John Kresse from 1982-85, will be honored at halftime of the Wofford game on Thursday, Feb. 3, while key starters on the 1997 NCAA Tournament squad, Rodney Conner (1994-97), Stacy Harris (1994-97) and Jermel President (1995-99), which upset fifth-seeded Maryland in the first round in Memphis, Tenn., but was five points short of a trip to the Sweet 16 in a 73-69 loss to eventual national champion Arizona, are honored at halftime of the UNC Greensboro game on Saturday, Feb. 12.

The foursome join a short list of 12 former CofC stars to have their jerseys honored in the 101-year history of the program. It will mark the first time for such a ceremony to take place since Southern Conference MVP and First Team Academic All-American Jody Lumpkin was honored in 2001. It will also mark the first honored jersey ceremony in Carolina First Arena history.

Fans can still purchase tickets to both games by calling 1-843-953-COFC (2632) or visiting the CofC Athletics Ticket Center online at A CofC Basketball Alumni match is scheduled prior to the UNCG game beginning at 1:45 p.m. (ET) with free admission to UNCG ticket holders.

GREG MACK (1982-85)
A two-time NAIA All-American, Mack led the Cougars to the program's first and only NAIA National Championship title in 1983 and a school-record 33 wins under Kresse. He averaged a team-leading 15.8 points and 7.1 rebounds per game as a sophomore en route to being named District 6 Player of the Year. The Cougars compiled an impressive 115-21 record (.846) during his storied four-year career.

Mack still ranks third all-time in the CofC record books behind Andrew Goudelock and Ken Gustafson in career scoring (1,901) and sixth all-time in career rebounding (842). He played in 112 games shooting a career 57.3 percent (791-of-1,379) from the floor and 73.0 percent (319-of-437) from the free throw line.

“Greg Mack was a dominant, inside and outside player. Whenever we needed a basket in the last few minutes of a game, I would always call his number and put the ball in his hands.” – Former CofC Head Coach John Kresse

A member of the affectionately known, “Big Four,” which led CofC to a 101-17 record (.856) over four seasons, four Trans America Athletic Conference (TAAC) titles, four postseason appearances and finished the 1996-97 season ranked No. 16 nationally, Conner recorded 985 career points, 470 career rebounds, 63 career assists and 87 career blocked shots during his successful four-year campaign.

One of the best defensive forwards in program history, he was a part of two NCAA Tournament and two NIT squads including the 1995-96 team which upset Tennessee in the NIT first round on their home court, but later fell to Rhode Island. Conner was named to the Great Alaska Shootout All-Tournament Team with wins against Arizona State, No. 21-ranked Stanford and a loss to No. 8 Kentucky. The 1997 All-TAAC Second Team pick was also selected to the Franklin Life Classic All-Tournament Team and TAAC Conference All-Tournament Team.

“Rodney Conner was a dual position player as he played forward and center for our scheme of things. He was the best defender I ever coached in my 23 years at the helm.” – Former CofC Head Coach John Kresse

STACY HARRIS (1994-97)
Another key member of the “Big Four,” which also included NBA draft pick Anthony Johnson, Harris still ranks among the top 20 all-time leading scorers in school history with 1,257 career points (No. 18) which is 11th-best in CofC Division I history. He also recorded 376 career rebounds and 190 career assists. Harris earned All-TAAC Second Team honors in 1996 and All-TAAC Freshman Team honors in 1994. He was also named to the Lowcountry Classic All-Tournament Team with wins over Penn State and Alabama in his rookie campaign in 1993-94.

During the Cougars' memorable 1997 NCAA Tournament run and No. 16 national ranking in the final Associated Press Top 25 Poll, he led the team in scoring in both games with 22 points against Maryland in a first-round upset and 25 points versus eventual national champion Arizona in the second round.

“Stacy Harris was a terrific perimeter player who had an excellent three-point shot and made crucial baskets in championship games.” – Former CofC Head Coach John Kresse

One of the best guards to ever don the Maroon and White, President still ranks among the top 25 all-time leading scorers in school history with 1,175 career points (No. 22) which is 13th-best in CofC Division I history. He led the Cougars to four regular-season conference titles and three conference tournament titles in their move from the Trans America Athletic Conference to the Southern Conference in 1998-99.

President was named the College of Charleston's Chevrolet Player of the Game in its loss to eventual Final Four participant Stanford in the NCAA First Round in 1998. He holds the distinction of being the only Cougar to start and play in three NCAA Tournaments. During his senior campaign in 1998-99, President ranked No. 4 nationally in free-throw percentage and led the SoCon with a school-record single-season 89.5 percentage from the charity stripe. His 1999 squad finished No. 16 nationally with a 28-3 record. President was selected to the All-SoCon Second Team in 1999, All-TAAC Third Team in 1998 and All-TAAC Freshman Team in 1996.

“Jermel President is a local product who attended Burke High School. He was a guard who could score, pass and defend with the best in the country.” – Former CofC Head Coach John Kresse

No. 10 Steven Johnson (1985-88)
No. 13 Stephen Yetman (1980-83)
No. 15 Ken Gustafson (1972-75)
No. 20 Jermel President (1995-99)
No. 21 Stacy Harris (1994-97)
No. 22 Sam Meade (1971-74)
No. 23 Sedric Webber (1996-99)
No. 24 Anthony Johnson (1992-97)
No. 33 Jody Lumpkin (1998-01)
No. 42 Rodney Conner (1994-97)
No. 44 Greg Mack (1982-85)
No. 55 Dwayne Grace (1984-86)

Print Friendly Version

More Headlines